Levels of Care

Understanding the Different Types of Hospice Care

At Ascend Hospice, our interdisciplinary teams provide four levels of care based on the individual needs of the patient and family. From providing short-term relief for caregivers to administering palliative care at a hospital or skilled nursing facility, we offer best in class hospice care and services in the location that is the most appropriate and comfortable for the patient. Below is a list of our available levels of care.

Routine: the most common level of care provided in the home or in a healthcare setting.

Respite: short-term relief for caregivers by placing the patient in a nursing facility for up to five days.

Inpatient: a more intensive level of care designed for short-term pain and symptom management; provided in a hospital or skilled nursing facility.

Continuous Care: one-on-one skilled nursing care designed for short-term crisis intervention involving pain and symptom management; provided most often in the home or the assisted-living setting for all or part of the day, depending on the clinical needs of the patient.

The Ascend Hospice Team

Providing the most comprehensive care – 24 hours a day, 7 days a week – requires the dedication of a special group of clinicians. At Ascend Hospice, our team of highly trained professionals includes:

  • Medical directors
  • Nurse case managers
  • Medical social workers
  • Spiritual counselors
  • Bereavement counselors
  • Nutritional counselors
  • Hospice aides
  • Trained volunteers

For more information on the best level of care for you or your loved one, please contact us at 866.821.1212, email or fill out our convenient online form – we are always available to discuss the benefits of hospice.